top of page
Search

Be Strong & Courageous


Eph 6:10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.

Josh 1:7-9 The Lord tells Joshua...

7 Only be thou strong and very courageous, that thou mayest observe to do according to all the law, which Moses my servant commanded thee: turn not from it to the right hand or to the left, that thou mayest prosper whithersoever thou goest. (Be fervent & fearless in your mind, so that you will heed the law & commandments & thereby be successful in all you do)

*We will not be successful if we don’t obey the word of God.

8 This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.

9 Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.

*It's important to note that God commands Joshua again to be strong & courageous - BECAUSE God was with him. God was expecting Joshua to show Trust!

Deut 28:8 The LORD shall command the blessing upon thee in thy storehouses, and in all that thou settest thine hand unto; and he shall bless thee in the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.

9 The LORD shall establish thee an holy people unto himself, as he hath sworn unto thee, if thou shalt keep the commandments of the LORD thy God, and walk in his ways.

*When we don’t get our way, it’s a fearful thing to act like children & ask God, “where are you?” Because He is wherever we are!

1 Chr. 28:8 Now therefore in the sight of all Israel the congregation of the LORD, and in the audience of our God, keep and seek for all the commandments of the LORD your God: that ye may possess this good land, and leave it for an inheritance for your children after you for ever.

Isa 1:19 If ye be willing and obedient, ye shall eat the good of the land:

John 14:15 If ye love me, keep my commandments.

James 1:22 But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves.

*Over & over, God puts emphasis on keeping His Word!

1 Chron. 28:9 And thou, Solomon my son, know thou the God of thy father, and serve him with a perfect heart and with a willing mind:

for the LORD searcheth all hearts, and understandeth all the imaginations of the thoughts: if thou seek him, he will be found of thee; but if thou forsake him, he will cast thee off for ever.

►10 Take heed now; for the LORD hath chosen thee to build an house for the sanctuary: be strong, and do it. >

[1 Cor 3:9 For we are labourers together with God: ye are God's husbandry, ye are God's building.]

*We are the Lord’s temple >

1 Cor 3:16 Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you?

1 Cor 16:13 Watch ye, stand fast in the faith, quit you like men, be strong. (Be no longer children, but mature disciples)

*Paul’s infirmity:

2 Cor 12:7 ...there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure.

8 For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.

9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ's sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

*We are weak in ourselves, but with the spirit of God, we have the power to stand & be witnesses of His power & glory. (Acts.1:8)

*David said:

Ps 27:13 I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.

14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

*Wait = don’t give up...keep your trust or you back up, then you’re starting all over – it’s like a fresh battle.

God doesn’t like words of defeat – prayers of defeat. He expects words & prayers of faith from his people. God honors our faith!

*Sometimes, we have to endure trials & sometimes, we have to reap what we've sown before we can reap the good things we are sowing.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page