top of page
Search

The Image of God

Updated: Apr 5, 2023



2 Cor 4:4 In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light (The word / Jesus ...Jn.1:1-14) of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image (reflection. visual representation) of God, should shine unto them. 2 Cor. 4:6 For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. (to manifest the knowledge of the glory of God in the appearance of Jesus) John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 The same was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4 In him was life; and the life was the light of men. 9 That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world. 14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth. *The Word was God, manifested in the being of Jesus. He was seen by those on earth & his glory was shown forth in miracles. If we have been born again, we have an inheritance with Christ because we have received redemption from our sins through the shedding of his blood. (Col. 1:12-19) He is the image of invisible God & he is the creator of all things & in him dwells the fullness of the godhead. verse 15 > Who is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of every creature verse 17 > And he is before all things, and by him all things consist. (by him all things are held in existence / Jn. 1:3...all things were made by him *The subject of this passage of scriptures is the ‘Son’ > Col 1:12 Giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet (suitable) to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light: 13 Who hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath translated us into the kingdom of his dear Son: 14 In whom (the son) we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins: (Acts 20:28 – says God has purchased the church with his own blood) 15 Who (the son) is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of every creature: 16 For by him (the son) were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him, and for him: (by the son & for the son) 17 And he (the son) is before all things, and by him all things consist. (All things are held in existence) 18 And he (the son) is the head of the body, the church: who is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead; that in all things he might have the preeminence. (the son is the head of the church, which is now his body... he is the beginning & the firstborn from the dead, so that he fulfills all things first) *He wasn’t the first to be raised from the dead ... (Jn. 11:44 –Lazarus / Lu. 7:15 –widow’s son / Mk. 5:41 –Jairus’ daughter) *He was the first in a body of flesh to rise from death unto life eternal. 19 For it pleased the Father that in him (the son) should all fullness (of the love & power & presence of God) dwell; *Show me thy glory... Ex. 33:16 For wherein shall it be known here that I and thy people have found grace in thy sight? is it not in that thou goest with us? so shall we be separated, I and thy people, from all the people that are upon the face of the earth. 17 And the LORD said unto Moses, I will do this thing also that thou hast spoken: for thou hast found grace in my sight, and I know thee by name. 18 And he (Moses) said, I beseech thee, shew me thy glory. 19 And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy. 20 And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live. 21 And the LORD said, Behold, there is a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon a rock: 22 And it shall come to pass, while my glory passeth by, that I will put thee in a clift of the rock, and will cover thee with my hand while I pass by: 23 And I will take away mine hand, and thou shalt see my back parts: but my face shall not be seen. *Just as Nebuchadnezzar saw the image of Christ (Dan. 3:25), Moses was allowed to see his image. Even the reflection of God's glory is too bright to behold. *Saul (Paul) saw the glory of God... Acts 9:3 And as he journeyed, he came near Damascus: and suddenly there shined round about him a light from heaven: (the glory of God) 4 And he fell to the earth, and heard a voice saying unto him, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me? *Show us the Father... Jn 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. 7 If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him. 8 Philip saith unto him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us. 9 Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Shew us the Father? *When they saw Jesus, they were looking at God in fleshly form. Mal. 3:1 ...the Lord, whom ye seek, shall suddenly come to his temple, (his tabernacle made of flesh) even the messenger of the covenant, whom ye delight in: behold, he shall come, saith the LORD of hosts (the new covenant - the promise of salvation to them that obey his doctrine) Heb. 1:2 -God has spoken to us through the son > 3 Who being the brightness of his glory, and the express image of his person, and upholding all things by the word of his power, when he had by himself purged our sins, sat down on the right hand of the Majesty on high; (his place of supreme power) 8 But unto the Son he saith, Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever: a sceptre of righteousness is the sceptre of thy kingdom. *The son is called God & the throne (seat of power) is everlasting. Is. 66:1 Thus saith the LORD, The heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool: Jn 3:13 And no man hath ascended up to heaven, but he that came down from heaven, even the Son of man which is in heaven. *Jesus was telling Nicodemus that he must be born again to enter the kingdom. He was standing there in front of Nicodemus & saying, "I came down from heaven & I am in heaven even now. How could he be in two places at once? The spirit of God fills all spaces & a portion of this spirit dwelt in Jesus. Rev 4:2 And immediately I was in the spirit: and, behold, a throne was set in heaven, and one sat on the throne. *This 'one' sitting on the throne is Jesus. Dan. 3:25 He answered and said, Lo, I see four men loose, walking in the midst of the fire, and they have no hurt; and the form of the fourth is like the Son of God. *This was before Jesus was born in a manger, but it was still Jesus nonetheless.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page