top of page
Search

The Other Side Of the Door

Updated: Apr 1, 2021


2 Kings 4:8 And it fell on a day, that Elisha passed to Shunem, where was a great woman; and she constrained him to eat bread. And so it was, that as oft as he passed by, he turned in thither to eat bread.

*Perhaps she was well known, influential - rich. It was important to note that she was a ‘great’ woman so, something about her was relevant.

9 And she said unto her husband, Behold now, I perceive that this is an holy man of God, which passeth by us continually.

10 Let us make a little chamber, I pray thee, on the wall; and let us set for him there a bed, and a table, and a stool, and a candlestick: and it shall be, when he cometh to us, that he shall turn in thither.

*She shows kindness to Elisha ...she is not asked to do so. She takes it on herself to do what she can for this man of God, expecting nothing in return. She seems to be a type of woman that takes charge. Can we say that we go beyond what’s expected of us a Christians? Just how much do we seek to please God? > [Matt 25:40 Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.]


11 And it fell on a day, that he came thither, and he turned into the chamber, and lay there.

12 And he said to Gehazi his servant, Call this Shunammite. And when he had called her, she stood before him.

13 And he said unto him, Say now unto her, Behold, thou hast been careful for us with all this care; what is to be done for thee? wouldest thou be spoken for to the king, or to the captain of the host?

*Perhaps a position for her husband? A complaint or petition to present? And she answered, I dwell among mine own people. *I am content the way things are & have no need of special treatment.


14 And he said, What then is to be done for her? And Gehazi answered, Verily she hath no child, and her husband is old.

15 And he said, Call her. And when he had called her, she stood in the door.

16 And he said, About this season, according to the time of life, thou shalt embrace a son. And she said, Nay, my lord, thou man of God, do not lie unto thine handmaid.

*Don’t get my hopes up, I’ve been down that road. I don’t want to be hurt again. I know it’s not possible...I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I’m just not worthy of God’s blessings, I’m not good enough. I’ve learned to be content with my life the way things are & if I don’t expect more, then I am not hurt when I don’t receive. Is this the way she felt? This is the way we feel sometimes!


17 And the woman conceived, and bare a son at that season that Elisha had said unto her, according to the time of life.

18 And when the child was grown, it fell on a day, that he went out to his father to the reapers. *it fell on a day - this is the third time this phrase is mentioned. We never know what each day will bring...we can live in hope or we can live in fear. The first time we read this phrase, a woman shows kindness to Elisha & he is refreshed by her household every time he passes by. The second time we read this phrase, she is promised a great blessing. However, the third time, her day becomes a day or turmoil & anguish & grief. But the day is not over! Before the day is done, she learns just what it means to trust the Word.

19 And he said unto his father, My head, my head. And he said to a lad, Carry him to his mother.

20 And when he had taken him, and brought him to his mother, he sat on her knees till noon, and then died.

21 And she went up, and laid him on the bed of the man of God, and shut the door upon him, and went out.

22 And she called unto her husband, and said, Send me, I pray thee, one of the young men, and one of the asses, that I may run to the man of God, and come again.

*Imagine what she must be feeling, but she stays calm - she knows who to go to - the man that promised her this son - she would not let him be taken away from her!


23 And he said, Wherefore wilt thou go to him to day? it is neither new moon, nor sabbath. And she said, It shall be well.

*Don’t worry, husband, I know what I’m doing. She didn’t tell her husband that his son was dead! She knows where to go who to talk to. This is the woman that takes charge.


24 Then she saddled an ass, and said to her servant, Drive, and go forward; slack not thy riding for me, except I bid thee.

25 So she went and came unto the man of God to mount Carmel. And it came to pass, when the man of God saw her afar off, that he said to Gehazi his servant, Behold, yonder is that Shunammite:

26 Run now, I pray thee, to meet her, and say unto her, Is it well with thee? is it well with thy husband? is it well with the child? And she answered, It is well. *He didn’t know why she was coming to him.

27 And when she came to the man of God to the hill, she caught him by the feet: but Gehazi came near to thrust her away. And the man of God said, Let her alone; for her soul is vexed within her: and the LORD hath hid it from me, and hath not told me.

*We say, “God knows my heart” yes, he does but sometimes, he wants us to make our petition known...he wants us to ask in faith, believing that what he promised, he will fulfill. He loves us to trust him. It shows our love for him.


►Then she said, Did I desire a son of my lord? did I not say, Do not deceive me?

*She’s upset! It’s ok to have feelings! Lord, did I ask for this? I was content without a purpose in my life. I didn’t ask for a gift, a calling, a work. What you gave to me- what you placed in my life - is now dead!


29 Then he said to Gehazi, Gird up thy loins, and take my staff in thine hand, and go thy way: if thou meet any man, salute him not; and if any salute thee, answer him not again: and lay my staff upon the face of the child.

*Don’t talk to anyone...no one needs to know. Sometimes things need to be held close - between you & God. We’re often tempted to share our problems with others & it’s good to have people praying with you for your needs, but conversations can also bring doubt & confusion. You need people of faith around you in times of need & we don’t always know who has faith.


30 And the mother of the child said, As the LORD liveth, and as thy soul liveth, I will not leave thee. And he arose, and followed her.

*I’m not leaving you...you’re the one that promised. Not Gehazi.

31 And Gehazi passed on before them, and laid the staff upon the face of the child; but there was neither voice, nor hearing. Wherefore he went again to meet him, and told him, saying, The child is not awaked.

*Staff represents the Word, but sometimes, speaking the word isn’t enough. Faith has to be tried - We have to get God closer to the problem. Our supplication might have to be greater.


32 And when Elisha was come into the house, behold, the child was dead, and laid upon his bed.

33 He went in therefore, and shut the door upon them twain, and prayed unto the LORD. *She wasn’t allowed in! Can you imagine what she was feeling - thinking? Surely she was feeling helpless, & wanted nothing more than to be at her son's bedside at that moment! What could Elisha do? Could he help her son at all? What could he be doing in there? Sometimes, we’ve got to give it to God & leave him alone with it. Let Him take it completely, trusting that He is faithful & will do what is best for us in every situation.

34 And he went up, and lay upon the child, and put his mouth upon his mouth, and his eyes upon his eyes, and his hands upon his hands: and he stretched himself upon the child; and the flesh of the child waxed warm.

*He’s not awake yet >

35 Then he returned, and walked in the house to and fro;

*We might not see an answer right away... we can’t see what’s happening on the other side of that door - but God’s working on it! When you don’t think God has heard you - he’s working on it! He might not go about it the way we expect, but he’ll do it right. We have to be willing to let go & let God! She didn’t know what Elisha was doing - she just knew that he was there with her need. We just need to KNOW that God is THERE!

- and went up, and stretched himself upon him: and the child sneezed seven times, and the child opened his eyes.

*She never got to the place where she gave up - she still hasn’t told her husband - she just went to the one that gave the promise & waited, not knowing what he would do - how he would do it -not seeing anything but a shut door. Don’t give up when you’re looking at a shut door. Just because you can’t see past it, doesn’t mean God’s not working.


36 And he called Gehazi, and said, Call this Shunammite. So he called her. And when she was come in unto him, he said, Take up thy son.

37 Then she went in, and fell at his feet, and bowed herself to the ground, and took up her son, and went out.

*This blessing became a burden for a short time ...sometimes our blessings - gifts - callings - our very lives may seem like a burden, but they always get back to being a blessing.


Isa 55:8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

9....so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

2 Kings 8:1 Time passes then Elisha tells the woman that God is sending a 7 year famine upon the land & she & her family should live somewhere else till it’s over.>

2 And the woman arose, and did after the saying of the man of God: and she went with her household, and sojourned in the land of the Philistines seven years.

3 And it came to pass (fell on a day) at the seven years' end, that the woman returned out of the land of the Philistines: and she went forth to cry unto the king for her house and for her land.

4 And the king talked with Gehazi the servant of the man of God, saying, Tell me, I pray thee, all the great things that Elisha hath done.

5 As Gehazi was telling the king how Elisha had restored a dead body to life, that the woman, was appealing to the king for her house and her land. And Gehazi said, My lord, O king, this is the woman, and this is her son, whom Elisha restored to life.

6 And when the king asked the woman, she confirmed it. So the king said, Restore all that was hers, and all the fruits of the field since the day that she left the land, even until now.

*If that day that her son died haven’t happened, she would have lost her home & lands, but because of the death of her son & the miracle of him being brought back to life she was blessed again.

If it has fell on a day in your life that things just aren’t the way they’re supposed to be - something you didn’t ask for - don’t lose hope -God’s on the other side of the door - he’s on the other side of the day, causing all things to work together for our good.(Ro. 8:28)


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page