top of page
Search

A Prisoner


Prisoner = held captive

Paul, a prisoner >

Eph 3:1 For this cause I Paul, the prisoner of Jesus Christ for you Gentiles,

Eph 4:1 I therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you that ye walk worthy of the vocation (calling) wherewith ye are called,

Philem1 - Paul, a prisoner of Jesus Christ,

Philem 9 - Yet for love's sake I rather beseech thee, being such an one as Paul the aged, and now also a prisoner of Jesus Christ.

*Paul calls himself a ‘prisoner’ of Christ. He said this because he no longer followed his own will, but yielded to the power of God that held him in safe captivity

To be held captive by God > Captive = one whose affections are seized, or who is held by strong ties of love – bound by the ties of love or admiration…

Eph 3:16 That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man;

17 That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love,

18 May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; (1 Pet.2:8 – joy unspeakable and full of glory)

19 And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.

Rev 3:20...I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

John 10:9 I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture. (Acts 2:38)

John 15:4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.

5 I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

Col 1:21 And you, that were sometime alienated and enemies in your mind by wicked works, yet now hath he reconciled (joined us to himself)

22 In the body of his flesh through death, to present you holy and unblameable and unreproveable in his sight:

23 If ye continue in the faith grounded and settled, and be not moved away from the hope of the gospel, which ye have heard, and which was preached to every creature which is under heaven; whereof I Paul am made a minister;

2 Tim 1:12 I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.

Ps 37:23 The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD: and he delighteth in his way.

24 Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down: for the LORD upholdeth him with his hand.


John 10:27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:

28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

*Our prison is a safe place of confinement in God’s hand. We are God’s creation, born to serve Him. The love of Christ constrains us, and because He died for us, we should not live for ourselves, but for Him.

(2 Cor 5:15 And that he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto him which died for them, and rose again.)

*We should not feel free to live according to our own will, but rather seek God’s will, knowing that we are kept in perfect peace if we trust in Him. (Isa 26:3 Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.)

*We are held captive by the love of God, and who would want to escape from His saving grace? Our love for Him & our obedience to His Word, will keep us in the safety of His hand.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page