top of page
Search

Lovest Thou Me?



John 21:3-19

3 *Peter goes fishing, & some of the disciples go with him & they catch nothing.

4-5 *...In the morning Jesus asks them, “Children, have ye any meat?” They answer, No.

6 And he said unto them, “Cast the net on the right side of the ship, and ye shall find.” *They obey & catch so many fish they have to have help drawing the net to shore.

9 -12 Jesus has fish & bread prepared for them on the shore & says, "Come & dine.”

15 So when they had dined, Jesus saith to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my lambs.

16 He saith to him again the second time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my sheep.

17 He saith unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Lovest thou me? And he said unto him, Lord, thou knowest all things; thou knowest that I love thee. Jesus saith unto him, Feed my sheep.

18 -19 *Then Jesus tells Peter how one day when he is old, he will glorify God in his death, & says, “Follow me.” - (follow my example. Jesus took care of the need, blessed them & fed them)


>2 Pet. 1:14 Knowing that shortly I must put off this my tabernacle, even as our Lord Jesus Christ hath shewed me.


*Jesus already knew that Peter loved him when he asked him the third time. He asked him three times because Peter needed to know his own heart. He needed to realize in himself that he did indeed love God with all his heart.

Remember, he had denied knowing Jesus when Jesus was arrested in the garden. (Jn. 18: 13-27)

This was after he had said, “I will lay down my life for thy sake.” (Jn. 13:37-38 / Mk. 14:29-31)

Peter would never again deny Jesus, but would one day give his life for the gospel.

*Jesus blessed Peter in the natural, & took care of his need. He wanted to know that Peter loved him more than the blessings, more than what He could give him or do for him. When he said, “Follow me,” he expected Peter to follow without question, & without hesitation...IF Peter loved him more than anything else.

We’ve got to cast (give out / put forth) on the right side ...from the Word of God. We have to love the sheep, because He loves the sheep. We mustn’t seek after our wants & needs; they will be met if we seek first the ‘kingdom of God.’


Matt 25:34-40

34 Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:

►35 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

36 Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?

38 When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?

39 Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?

40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

John 13:35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

Matt 22:37 Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.

38 This is the first and great commandment.

39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

40 On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

*The law & prophecies are dependent / supported by these commandments. Without love they are ineffective, because the law, & things written in the books of the Prophets were given by love – God is love.

Everything we do must be in love.

As long as we will allow love to reign, the body can produce fruit...we can be a light. We can’t say we love God if we don’t love the sheep. We can’t say that we love God, if we don’t love our brother (1 Jn. 4:20) Our love for God is proven if we keep His commandments. > John 14:23 Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words:


*King Saul was anointed...but his heart was for himself

*King David was anointed & his heart was for God & toward the people.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page